Figure: 19 TAC §230.11(b)(5)(C)

Countries in which English is an Official Language

The countries listed below have been approved by the State Board for Educator Certification (SBEC) to satisfy the English language proficiency requirement specified in 19 TAC §230.11(b)(5)(C). To be exempted from the Test of English as a Foreign Language internet-Based Test (TOEFL-iBT) testing requirement specified in 19 TAC §230.11(b)(5)(B), a certification candidate must have earned an undergraduate or graduate degree from an institution of higher education on the SBEC-approved list of countries.

Anguilla India

Antigua and Barbuda Ireland

Australia Jamaica

Bahamas Kenya

Barbados Liberia

Belize New Zealand

Bermuda Nigeria

British Virgin Islands Philippines

Cameroon Saint Kitts and Nevis

Canada (except Quebec) Saint Lucia

Cayman Islands Singapore

Dominica South Africa

Federated States of Micronesia Trinidad/Tobago

Gambia Turks and Caicos Islands

Ghana Uganda

Gibraltar United Kingdom

Grand Cayman U.S. Pacific Trust

Grenada Zambia

Guyana Zimbabwe